Jamtara is new district created by separating from Dumka district. It is bounded by Deoghar district in north, Dumka and West Bengal in the east, Dhanbad and West Bengal in the south and Giridih in the west. It has an area of 1811 sq. km and population of 7,91,042 persons (Census of India,2011). The district comprises one subdivision (Jamtara) and six development blocks viz. Kundhit, Nala, Jamtara ,Narayanpur, Karmatanr and Fatehpur. The district is located at a lower altitude of Chhotanagpur plateau and its latitude and longitude vary from 230-10’ to 240-5’ north and 860-30’ to 870-15’ east respectively. The history of Jamtara district is inseparable from the history of parent district of Santhal Pargana. Santhal Pargana was created as a separate district in the year 1855 by transferring out portions of Bhagalpur and Birbhum districts. The entire area comprising present divisions of Santhal Pargana, Hazaribag, Munger and Bhagalpur was termed as Jungleterry (Jungle Terai) by the English on assumption of Diwani in 1765. Jamtara ranks 19th in terms of population (7,91,042) and 21st in terms of area (1811sq.km.) in the state of Jharkhand. The economy of the district mainly depends on cultivation or related work. More than 64% of the total workers are engaged in Primary sector. Sudrakshipur (Kundhit Block) has the largest area (1109.69 hectare) and Sarodabarchak (KarmaTanr Vidyasagar Block) has the smallest area (1.56 hectare) among the villages in the district.

Read More..